Formula One: Vettel wins First Indian Grand Prix

Oct 30, 2011

Sebastian Vettel Kisses his first place trophy after claiming victory at the First Indian Formula One Grand Prix

German Sebastian Vettel has won the inaugural Indian Grand Prix at the Buddha Innternational Circuit in Noida. He is followed on the second place by Jenson Button.

What a start! As the lights spelt go, there was plenty of contact in the back of the grid while Sebastian Vettel, in pole position, pulled away from the pack. Jenson Button turned Fernando Alonso and then passed Mark Webber to track Vettel's run. It was a good start for Michael Schumacher while Kamui Kobayashi retired early while there were a fair number of pit stops after all the initial bustling.

The tussle between Webber and Button was the highlight in the wee quarters, with the former activating his DRS in lap 4 but the McLaren driver was miserly with his space.

Felipe Massa who pipped Lewis Hamilton early on then stuck to the back of teammate Fernando Alonso.

Vettel clocked fastest laps with ease and led with the others giving chase but Button did not make things too easy for the German driver. He clocked three consecutive fastest laps (11, 12, 13) to eat into Vettel's time to get the proceedings heated up. By lap 21, none of the top six cars were within a second of each other.

Lap 24 saw Massa running wide at turn one which allowed Hamilton to close up and the Briton drives up the inside but Massa turned in and questions must've been asked about why the Ferrari driver was unwilling to avoid an accident there even if he was unwilling to yield the corner.

Sure enough, Massa gets a drive-through penalty for causing a collision.